RIDER BIOGRAPHIES GreenMedInfo.com Click here to view
  Marino Lejarreta    

Picture courtesy of www.geocities.com
Marino Lejarreta was born on May 14, 1957.

The Spanish rider stood on every step of the podium of a certain Grand Tour event.

He also placed in the World Championship Road Race.

In addition, he was a three-time winner and record holder in one of the one-day classics.

Lejarreta won the 1982 Vuelta a Espana in front of Michel Pollentier of Belgium and Sven-Ake Nilsson of Sweden.

Lejarreta was also 2nd in the 1983 Vuelta a Espana behind Bernard Hinault of France.

In addition, Lejarreta was 3rd in the 1991 Vuelta a Espana behind fellow Spanish riders Melchor Mauri Pratt and Miguel Indurain.

Lejarreta also won the Points Jersey in the 1983 Vuelta a Espana.

In the one-day races, Lejarreta was 5th in the 1982 World Championship Road Race behind Giuseppe Saronni of Italy, Greg Lemond of the USA, Sean Kelly of Ireland, and Joop Zoetemelk of Holland.

Lejarreta also won the San Sebastian Classic three times, the record, in 1981, 1982, and 1987.

Picture courtesy of www.elsprint.com

Return | Home
Copyright 2002-2016 Cycling Hall of Fame.com